The Electoral Commission (EC) has suspended physical campaign meetings in Kampala and 10 other districts around the country due to surging numbers of Covid-19.

Other districts where ampaign meetings have been banned are Mbarara, Kabarole, Luwero, Kasese, Masaka, Wakiso, Jinja, Kalungu, Kazo and Tororo. The EC spokesperson, Paul Bukenya on Saturday said campaign meetings in the mentioned districts which are considered to be registering high spread of the novel virus had been suspended starting December 26, 2020 until further notice. The EC has suspended campaign meetings in districts/cities categorised by Ministry of Health as having high spread of Covid19. From 26/12/20, no campaign meetings will be held in Mbarara, Kabarole, Luwero, Kasese, Masaka, Wakiso, Kabarole, Jinja, Kalungu, Kazo, Kampala & Tororo.

— Paul Bukenya (@PaulBukenya) December 26, 2020
The development comes at a time when Uganda has 33,360 confirmed cases of Covid-19 and 245 deaths. On the same note, EC announced the commencement of packing of ballot papers for presidential and parliamentary elections.

The polling kits include ballot papers, declaration results forms, polling register (National Voters’ Register for the respective polling stations, generic polling forms which include accountability of ballot papers, official report book, among other.Others are generic materials such as ink pad, indelible ink, pens and others.

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Don`t copy text!